I’m back!

28 Aug

My roommate and I finally got Wi-fi!

That is quite a victory for both of us since we had trouble finding things to do around our apartment day in and day out with no internet or cable. I should also mention that it’s also a huge victory considering the installation took about 3 hours – our cable guy was having issues finding our main hook up.

While wi-fi is exciting, that isn’t why I decided to check in today! As I mentioned in my last post – I’m part of the team that is opening Fountain View in Epcot as quick service food and beverage location that features Starbucks products. The entire opening team has been having a great time getting used to our new location, our new coworkers, and our new products, in fact, we have had about 3 test meals so far.  Test meals are kind of like a soft opening so we have a chance to see how things work with guests whether it’s good or bad.

In my personal experience, I think that our test meals have been going really well – it has been great having the chance to interact with guests since we’ve only been interacting with the other opening team cast members for about a week and a half.  I’m incredibly excited for our opening day which is rapidly approaching! Who knew that September could feel so close and so far away at the same time? : )

Even with all of the excitement going on with my new role, I’ve been reflecting upon my previous work locations. I don’t think I can ever express my feelings about my previous locations in simple words or phrases because how can you describe something that has had such an impact on your life and who you are as a cast member and person in a few trivial words? There are days where I wake up and wish that I could be putting on my green shorts and my white top with all the colorful embroidery and fly off to Neverland with my Fantasyland family or that I could be putting on my baseball uniform and heading off to the Corner to make hot dogs with my MSN CP family.

If you notice, I use the term ‘family’ quite often to describe the other cast members that I work with because to me, that’s exactly what each and every one of them is. Working for Disney is something that not everyone can comprehend because while it is a job, it isn’t your typical job… it isn’t even your typical ‘amusement park’ job. There is always something going on at Disney – We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. I understand that not every theme park is open for that amount of time but the entire resort has cast members who are working throughout the day and night to create pixie dust and magical memories for our guests. Not everyone can understand what its like to work the hours from 5 pm to 3 am running an attraction, not everyone can understand what its like to constantly be answering the same questions over and over again in a 5 minute period, and not everyone knows what its like to keep magic alive through creative storytelling. I think that I can create these deep family-like connections with my coworkers because they understand what my days at work are like, they see me on my good and not-so-good days, and most importantly, they know how to to cheer me up or keep me on track. When you spend almost a year in a location – you get to know your fellow cast members really well so it makes it that much harder to say goodbye and then you move on to a new location where you have to work on building those connections back up.

I love the fact that my new coworkers are practically like family already because we’ve already been through so much together but I can’t lie and say that I don’t miss my old coworkers. As a lot of us in my new location have said – you may not miss the job or the location in itself, but you will always miss the people.  I’m still in that stage where I miss the people I spent almost every day at work with quite a bit.

With that being said – here’s to the fabulous cast members whom I have had the honor and pleasure of working with previously, I miss you all and I can’t wait to visit you!

3 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. Peggy Witowski August 28, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Well said and welcome back.

  2. mgibbon2 August 28, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    I totally understand your family reference, it’s been 3 years since I received my acceptance letter to the DCP and not a day goes by that I don’t think about or miss my fellow cast members, albeit, some more than others. With that being said, I’m counting down the days until I get to visit my “family”…..34 days!! And having worked in 3 different locations myself, I totally remember what it felt like to create new bonds. So glad to hear your opening is fast approaching, I’ll try to remember to come visit while I’m there!! What would you suggest a non-coffee drinker order?! 🙂 I really want the Disney Starbucks cup with Princess Mariah written on it…do you do that?! Lol 😀

    • AdventuresofCaitlin September 19, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

      Thanks for all the comments Mariah! We can obviously write whatever you’d like on your cup – we’ve had a few princesses and superheroes come through already. :] Starbucks has quite a few drinks without coffee in them – our creme based frappuccinos are probably the most popular. I really like White Mocha Pumpkin Spice Creme frappuccinos in the fall because they’re sweet and delicious.

Leave a Reply

