Helloooo there!

4 Aug

After being silent on here for almost a year, I decided that it would be fun to start blogging again. I think that this decision to blog again has to do with the fact that I want to share my memories and stories of everything that I’ve done in Florida – even if no one other than myself reads this, it’s nice to have a record of them. 

Since I’ve been gone for sometime I should probably re-introduce myself – just on the off chance that anyone is reading….

Hello, I’m Caitlin! I’m currently a full time cast member – in fact, my 1 year anniversary with the Walt Disney Company is tomorrow. I originally started this blog as a way to keep track of my memories and experiences as a Disney College Program participant. While on my program – I was a quick service food and beverage hostess in the Magic Kingdom and I enjoyed my program so much that I extended twice just so I could experience more of what the company had to offer.  

After I couldn’t extend anymore I received a full time transfer to Fantasyland Attractions where I had the chance to fly off to Neverland with a boy who didn’t want to grow up, sail around the world on the happiest cruise that ever sailed, and swim under the sea with a mermaid who had quite a collection of human stuff.

That leads me to where I am now –  I’m back to being a quick service food and beverage hostess but I’ve not only left the turn of the century and the land of fantasy but I’ve also left the wonderful kingdom that I started in. I’m currently off discovering what the future might be like in the park that most resembles Walt’s idea of an experimental prototype community of tomorrow. In fact, my current transfer has allowed me to join an opening team which is incredibly exciting. I know Disney’s decision to partner with Starbucks has had some mixed reviews among Disney bloggers and guests alike but after seeing how the heart of the turn of the century and Main Street USA is still a huge part in the re-opening of the Main Street Bakery as a Starbucks location, I’m sure most of Disney fans and guests feel better about the merge. 

I’m not only excited but incredibly proud to be part of the team that will be bringing Starbucks to Epcot – the entire training experience so far has been filled with new challenges [like steaming milk!] and bonding moments with my fellow opening team cast members. While I mentioned that it’s been a challenging training process, I love the challenges that I’ve been given and I love the happiness that comes when I accomplish them.

For example, I mentioned that steaming milk was a challenge – I’ve never had any sort of barista/coffee shop training before in my life so I had to get used to what sounds I needed to hear while steaming my milk in order to create a great latte or cappuccino. Part of the reason that I’m listing this as a challenge is because during my first few days of training I had to pour out my fair share of milk because I steamed it incorrectly or I steamed the milk too long for the style of drink I was making. My trainers patiently watched and explained what mistakes I was making and helped me work to fix them. While in training lab my cappuccinos were heavier than they were supposed to be and my lattes never had a perfect dollop of foam – I couldn’t seem to figure it out.  Yesterday during a day of training in an environment with guests, I somehow managed to not just make one light and fluffy, almost perfect cappuccino and one latte with the ideal dollop foam but I consistently was able to make these drinks while I was on the hot bar.

I know that I still have many more challenges ahead of me as my location hasn’t even opened yet, but for now I’m going to count my cappuccino and latte experiences from  yesterday as a victory to celebrate for now before I have to face my next big challenge. 

Anyway – I feel like I probably have talked more than I needed to today, hopefully I’ll find time and some more free wi-fi so I can update sooner rather than later. :]

2 Responses to “Helloooo there!”

  1. mgibbon2 August 4, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    You have a reader here! Glad to see you’ve returned to the blog! I’ll be at Disney the first weekend in October, will your location be open by then? Still not sure how I feel about Starbucks and Disney.

    • AdventuresofCaitlin August 28, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Thank you for letting me know that there is someone out there! Our location will have our official opening around September 4th and I’m incredibly excited. :]

Leave a Reply

