A dream is a wish your heart makes when you’re fast asleep…

22 Nov

The funny thing about that phrase is the word ‘asleep’ because over the past few days, I haven’t been getting much sleep at all. But, really, who needs sleep?  :]

Working these past few nights has been interesting because at 1, 2, 3 am you never can expect the types of people who you’ll meet. There are the people who are cranky because they had a 5 am flight then stayed in the parks all day long, then the people who have clearly had a little too much family time, followed by the people who think that because you sell coffee, you’re Starbucks, and last but not least you have the people who appreciate you working that late so they can have fun in one of the most magical places ever.

Needless to say, I’ve met quite a few of these types of guests over the past few nights at work and it’s safe to say that even when guests are at their worst, I can always rely on my coworkers to make the night so much better.

Since I have so many stories to share and such little time, I’m going to just give you all a quick list!

  • I got my 1st Great Service Fanatic [GSF] card! One of my coworkers, Latanya, filled one out for me, recognizing me for ‘always uplifting other cast members and always demonstrating a positive image and energy at work’
  • Getting children to stop crying by giving them stickers, telling them stories, or even making pinkie promises with them.
  • Giving a Magical Moment to a little Mulan and  a little Ariel who were celebrating birthdays along with their first visit.
  • Giving a Magical Moment to a Prince Charming who had just turned 2 years old and was being very brave by trying to face his fear of the fireworks by staying in the Ice Cream parlor [the night before he wouldn’t leave the train station].
  • Exploring the Magic Kingdom by myself and taking a bunch of pictures of the holiday decorations.
  • Picking up some Peppermint Bark from the Gingerbread house in the Grand Floridian Lobby.
  • Hanging out with Rachel and Ariesha in Epcot/Magic Kingdom.
  • Picking up Pook a Looz Ballerina Minnie to go along with Pook a Looz Pirate Mickey.
  • Getting my first few Vinylmations. I’m kind of obsessed with the Park Stars series.
  • Getting a chance to hang out with Shirley at Bistro before my shift.
  • Henry visiting me at the Bakery before he left the Magic Kingdom after his Emporium shift.
  • Exploring the Contemporary and seeing their holiday Gingerbread creation. It’s modeled after ‘It’s a Small World…’
  • Riding the bus with Tracey and Bryan.
  • Buying Vinylmation from Henry at the Emporium and watching him get a GSF card from one of his new managers.
  • Listening to Michael talk like Captain Jack Sparrow, Kermit the Frog, etc
  • Joking around in the Ice Cream Shop with the Fillers and Scoopers.
  • Getting Ice Cream in Epcot.
  • Chip and Dale trying to steal my ice cream.
  • Helping guests when I’m not working/explaining the what the Disney College Program is.
  • Taking pictures of characters and with characters.
  • Having Trey and Mary make fun of Jackie and I for our costumes, they’re just jealous they aren’t wearing them because they got deployed to Tomorrowland Terrace.
  • Having MSN conversations in the Utilidors.
  • Counting down the days until Photobomb sessions with Colleen.
  • Making plans with Rachel for our lives after the program.
  • Accepting my Program extension until May, just in case I don’t get the PI. [Still in the Interview stage, which is a good thing.]
  • Riding the Monorail as an attraction.

and now its time to go crawl into bed to get some sleep before heading to the Ballpark tonight for work. Batter up!

Leave a Reply

