Boo to you, and you, and you, and you, Happy Halloween!

7 Oct

Disney just keeps getting better. Seriously.

Yes, the program is hard work and yes, the hours you work mean you don’t get home until 4 am occasionally but there are so many memories and fantastic experiences that happen while you’re working that makes it  all worthwhile.

For example: I have a lot of shifts where I’m working during Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween parties and I always look forward to those nights. Not only because I love the guest’s costumes but because on these nights, work is never work, it’s always fun.

My coworkers and I are allowed to watch the parades as long as we aren’t busy so we go out onto Main Street right in front of our location and we sing along to the music, clap, and even dance a bit.

Before I continue with my story, I’m going to give you the music to the Boo to You parade to get you in the mood.

Yes, we all sing along to that song. Catchy isn’t it?

Anyway, We’ve gotten in the habit of doing silly things for some of the characters who pass by in the parade to not only give the guests in front of us some great photo ops and character interactions but to also give the characters in the parade something fun.

We’ve gotten Peter to crow, Captain Jack Sparrow to give us hand hearts [but only if we scream loud enough for him]. We also do the Crocodile clap when Captain Hook passes by so he gets scared in addition to so many other things.

The guests who walk past us on their way into or out of the park also get in the mood and join in with our antics, smiling, laughing, and singing along. Some of them even dance as they pass by which is always funny. It’s great that as cast members, we have a chance to impact a guests night just the same way that they can impact our nights.

Tonight is not only another Halloween party but it’s also the night when Mike gets here and I have 3 days off.

We already have two reservations at restaurants on Disney property [Kona Cafe at the Polynesian and Olivia’s at the Old Key West Resort] and we have plans to check out the Epcot Food and Wine Festival! I’m also looking forward to see if Mike will enjoy being back here as a guest after he had his first visit ever to the Walt Disney World resort in March.

I hope that during his visit we can get our picture taken with Belle and the Beast, watch Wishes together in the Hub, and possibly ride Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster since those are a few things that we didn’t get to in March.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that I had my phone interview for Disney’s Professional Internships yesterday morning and I’m hoping it went well. My interviewer’s name was Peggy and the interview lasted exactly 15 minutes. She asked me questions about each of the roles that I applied for and I tried to answer them the best that I could.  Based on the questions I was asked, I think that I might be considered more for the Event Planning or Guest Relations Internships but I don’t know. Even if I don’t get selected to participate in the Professional Internships, I am planning on trying to stay down here to continue working for the Walt Disney Company because I’m absolutely loving it.

I hope that you all have a wonderfully spooky day! Oh, and feel free to comment if you want. :]

Leave a Reply

