IT’S OFFICIAL

30 Sep

I’ve earned my Ears!

I passed my Casey’s Corner assessment on the 28th along with Cinthia, one of my co-workers. So, now I can work at both Casey’s and the Bakery/Ice Cream shop without a trainer.

I’m so sorry that I haven’t posted much lately but I’ve been quite busy either with work or having fun on my days off and even applying for Disney’s Professional Internships.

I actually spent my day off on Tuesday updating my resume and filling out my application for three of the College Program Alumni Professional Internships. I decided to apply for a Professional Internship in Guest Relations, Event Planning for the Disney College Program Housing, and Magic Kingdom Project Support. In fact, after applying on Tuesday, I heard back on Thursday morning that I had been invited to schedule a phone interview so I have my fingers crossed that things will work out.

Now, I know some of you reading this are a little confused as to why I didn’t apply for a Professional Internship in Communications like I said I was planning on doing. Well, it’s pretty simple, I found out that as much as I love Communications, I also enjoy interacting with guests on a daily basis and I love discovering new things about the Magic Kingdom so those two other internships were really appealing. The Event Planning internship really goes back to the fact that I miss being an RA and planning hall programs for residents.

If I got any one of these internships, I know that I’d be able to make myself happy and I would make every second of it count. It’s like what I keep telling my Mom and Mike over the phone, on the days where I get put in a position I’m not fond of or when I had a rough time of remembering things during training there would usually be something or someone who reminds me why I’m doing the program. Most of the time that someone just happens to be a guest who jokes around with me or a little princess who talks to me or even the guest that takes the time to thank me by name. They may not realize that those few seconds of interaction make my day but I make sure to tell my roommates or coworkers all about those moments.

For example, there was a little princess who came into the Bakery the other night with her mother and her grandmother a few minutes before we closed for the night. The mother was trying to figure out how to use up the last of their Dining plan credits and the little girl was just sitting there staring at all of the goodies on the bakery line. After talking with the adults, I started a conversation with her. When I asked her what she had done that day, she mentioned that she had visited the Haunted Mansion and she told me all about how the ghost sat on her head. When I told her that I love the Haunted Mansion and that the ghosts always do silly things when I’m there, She instantly wanted to know what they do to me. I told her about how during the Halloween Party that I attended as a guest, the ghost thought it would be funny to switch my face with Mike A’s face. For the rest of the time she spent in the Bakery, she kept asking me why the ghost took off my head. It was so adorable and funny that I couldn’t help but smile, what a great interaction to have after working for about 8 hours.

Since I mentioned it in my story, I might as well fill you all in on the magic that is Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. I wasn’t planning on going until after I had spent the afternoon playing in Epcot with Mike A and Christina. Christina convinced Mike A that he should go with her and her roommate to the party that night which in turn convinced me to go. So we scrambled to find a costume for me to wear since Mike A was planning on wearing his Hufflepuff robes and Christina was planning on going as a pirate, eventually, I bought a kid’s Pirate hat in Mouse Gears and created a costume out of the clothes I had in my closet.

The Halloween party is held on select nights in September and October from 7 pm – 12 am in the Magic Kingdom. It’s a hard ticket event which means that there is a separate charge to attend the event rather than it being included in the admission price to the park.  People who are attending the party get a wristband so they are allowed to stay after the park closes to regular guests at 7 pm.

This event features rare characters, trick-or-treating spots, a show featuring the Villains, a special parade and a special fireworks show. For example, guests can meet with Tarzan and Jane, Captain Jack Sparrow, the Seven Dwarfs, most of the Princes along with their Princesses, and last but not least some favorite characters in their Halloween costumes!

I loved the party and I’m considering trying to attend another one so that I can experience some of the things that I missed when I went. If you ever get the chance to attend, do it. It’s so much fun.

Anyway, I really need to head to bed but I hope that you enjoyed the update on my adventures! :]

Leave a Reply

