The Finale of the Walt Disney World Resort 30 Day Challenge….

26 Aug

Since I’ll be busy over the weekend dodging the Hurricane and finishing everything on my to-do list, including packing, I figured I should finish up the last of the 30 day Disney Challenge while I could.

Day #25: Favorite activity outside the parks, but still on Disney property.

The Disney Water Parks and Downtown Disney are two of my favorite places to visit outside of the 4 main parks. While I haven’t been to Blizzard Beach yet, I absolutely love Typhoon Lagoon!

Typhoon Lagoon

The Miss Tilly atop Mount Mayday

Typhoon Lagoon offers an assortment of things for the entire family to do. If you’re an easygoing person, you’ll probably love Castaway Creek which is the lazy river that circles Typhoon Lagoon. If you’re a daring person, well then you can always take a plunge on the Humunga Kowabunga or check out the Shark Reef where you can snorkel with  leopard and bonnethead sharks and stingrays.  Typhoon Lagoon also has a giant wave pool which is home to surfing lessons before the park opens.

Downtown Disney is a great place to visit outside of the parks because it not only offers great dining experiences like Raglan Road but it has a bunch of great shopping venues like Basin and the World of Disney. Downtown Disney is also home to Cirque du Soleil’s La Nouba, Disney Quest and some amazing Lego sculptures.

Fun Fact: The World of Disney is the largest merchandise location of its kind at the size of 50,000 square feet.

Lego Sculpture featuring the Dwarfs

Prince Phillip fights Maleficent

Raglan Road

Day #26: Favorite souvenir

My two favorite Disney souvenirs are Disney pins and “toothpick holders.” I’m rather new to collecting and trading pins but so far, it’s been pretty fun. In fact, I’ve had to get a whole new lanyard for the ones that I’ve picked up in just 3 trips. I’m sure that my collection will grow even more considering I’ll be a cast member soon so I’ll have a chance to trade with various guests. “Toothpick Holders” just happen to be what some of the Disney shot glasses ring up as when you purchase them so that’s what my family and I jokingly call them. While I’m not a big drinker, I have found that I can find various shot glasses around the resort property that feature an attraction or character I love and it’s often cheaper than some of the other merchandise that I could buy.

A cute way of displaying Disney Pins

Mine! Mine! Mine! Mine!

Day #27: Favorite Walt Disney World breakfast

‘OHANA at the Polynesian is definitely one of my favorite breakfasts at the Walt Disney World Resort. It offers some great character interactions paired with family style breakfast fare ranging from eggs to bacon and sausage and even POG juice. POG juice is a blend of passion fruit, orange, and guava juice and it’s really good. The restaurant keeps with the Polynesian theme because when you check in for your meal, you get a lei and then after you are seated at your table, you meet your Cousin who will be taking care of you for the meal. The best part about ‘Ohana is that you get to meet Lilo, Stitch, Pluto, and Mickey in his Hawaiian shirt!

A Small Skillet from 'Ohana

Day #28: Favorite fireworks show

WISHES! No doubt about it, Wishes is my favorite fireworks show.

Click Me

Click Me too! 

Day #29: Favorite monorail color

Hmmmm…. I guess my favorite right now is the Tronorail because I think it’s cool.

Tronorail

Last but not least, Day #30: Favorite statue, fountain, or anything that grabs your eye in the park

If I listed every single little thing that caught my eye in the parks this post would probably be 100000 miles long because there are a bunch of things that catch my eye in the parks so I’ll leave it with something simple.

Watching the magic of the parks through other guests always catches my eye because I love seeing what they love in the parks and just how one small amount of pixie dust can totally change their mood.

Hopefully as a Cast Member, I’ll be able to create some pixie dust for others. :]

Leave a Reply

