The Day AFTER…

8 May

Yesterday I walked across the stage in front of the library and shook three sets of hands before receiving my B.A. in English.

The funniest part of it all is, it still doesn’t feel real.

Graduating and leaving Roanoke is something that I never really thought about before because for three years, I packed up my room and moved out with the knowledge of the fact that I’d only be returning in a few short months. That’s not what’s happening this year though. While I’m excited to move on and get to Disney in August for my College Program, leaving is bitter sweet.

I’m going to miss the mountains, the restaurants, the star, the campus, the way that the admin. building was decorated for the holidays, move-in days, new residents, training, staff meetings with my RA staff, initiations and bids days, walking past all of the buildings I have lived in, Miller Hall, chicken tender and mac & cheese day in Commons, adventuring around the Valley with Kelli, seminar, taking a Whiteside class and hearing about pandas, etc. There are so many other things that I could put here but I think it would take an entire month to write down. I just hope that the incoming students take advantage of everything that Roanoke has to offer and that they don’t miss out because 4 years flies by so quickly and they will seriously treasure these memories – I know that I already do and I’m sitting in the hotel room waiting until tomorrow to make the long drive home.

Thanks for reading and feel free to leave a comment!  : ]

One Response to “The Day AFTER…”

  1. Mike June 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I love how you worded this blog post! It made me smile.

Leave a Reply

